Approximate Hummus

I have a big bag of dried chickpeas in the cupboard. I’ve used a handful a couple of times – soaked them overnight and then flung them into whatever I was cooking for a shot of added protein, and wondered why they didn’t taste as good as the canned ones.

hummus

And then I went to a beans, pulses and grains cookery lesson and discovered that as well as soaking overnight, you’re meant to¬† bring them to the boil and simmer for an hour to an hour and a half until the chickpeas are soft, and THEN add them to your cooking. Ohhh.

So that’s what I did – poured a large quantity of chickpeas into a bowl, covered them with lots of water and left them to soak for sixteen hours. Then I moved them into my biggest saucepan, and simmered them for more than an hour. Let us pause for a moment to admire the miracle of food science: the chickpeas tripled in size during this process.

I adore hummus, so that was the first thing I wanted to make with my new batch of cooked chickpeas. I decided to use this recipe from Vegangela, because it looked straightforward and only included one ingredient I didn’t have (the tahini). Yes, I realise it isn’t really hummus without tahini: hence the approximate. However, I did have some sesame oil so I sloshed a bit of that in.

The recipe called for a tin of chickpeas, but I had cooked dried ones. I guessed that a tin might be approximately 200g of drained chickpeas but that didn’t look quite enough once I’d blended it all up so I added another 50g or so. I also doubled up on garlic because I like garlic. Following the tip on the recipe page I spent quite some time peeling my chickpeas but on reflection I quite like the more chunky texture so I won’t do that next time – it takes ages, although it is indeed quite meditative. The lack of tahini was evident (I will buy some as soon as I figure out where to get it from) but it still tastes pretty good on a slice of nice crusty bread.

Finally once it was all blended up and stirred in, I transferred it into a handy tub that turned out to be exactly the right size, sprinkled paprika over the top (note: if you do this, the paprika slowly dissolves and blends into the hummus, which is what I wanted it to do, but will mean it looks less impressive as time goes on). Cheaper than shop-bought hummus, fresher, probably healthier and some nice foodie points for making your own! Why would you ever buy shop-bought hummus again?

5 thoughts on “Approximate Hummus

  1. YUM, looks great! I wouldn’t worry too much about the tahini… I made hummus for YEARS without it! Oh, and if your chickpeas are freshly cooked, I don’t find that you have to shell them anyway… I have to update my post with that at some point.

    Anyway, thanks for the shout out and I’ve added your site to my RSS reader!

  2. Ho hum(mus). Tahini seems fairly crucial to my mind but shelling less so, I’m with Angela in that regard, don’t even bother! The only tools I use at all when making hummus is food processor and paring knife, and the latter is just for slicing up the lemon/lime and mincing the garlic before it goes in the thing with the spinning knives at the bottom.

    • Lemon! I knew there was something I’d forgotten about adding. My food processor isn’t very good, I have to use the stick blender for everything, but fortunately that is pretty good. I do now have tahini, so the next batch will be authentic :)

  3. Pingback: A new recipe for an old favourite | Faint With Hunger

Leave a Reply

