National Vegetarian Week 2013 – Hearty Salad

Happy National Vegetarian Week! This year I’m setting myself the challenge of cooking seven new recipes, with a particular focus on vegan dishes. Each day I will post a photo, a summary of the recipe and my verdict on whether the meal will make its way into my repertoire.

Lots of delicious greenery

Lots of delicious greenery

This was an adaptation of the Hearty Salad recipe from the Vegetarian Society’s Surprisingly Simple recipes. The red pepper was chopped in a bowl to be added individually as one of the guests is allergic, and I forgot to add the (very fancy) Pomodorino tomatoes. We also skipped the lemon zest, as the lemon I bought was waxed, and I have a suspicion that we didn’t add the soy sauce, due in part to the inherent difficulty of two people attempting to prepare the same dish at the same time. Instead of green beans, I chose purple sprouting broccoli, since the beans had travelled from Kenya and the broccoli from Kent.

I enjoyed this salad a lot. I’m a big fan of potatoes and an even bigger fan of avocado, so any salad that combined those two was going to be a winner. To be honest, I don’t think the tomatoes or red pepper would have added anything, particularly considering that the other side salad (a recipe will follow tomorrow!) was tomato-based. We provided a small bowl of home-made pesto, which was prepared by Heidi in an amazingly short time – yet another thing I have always been intimidated by, but will be trying for myself very soon – and it was delicious paired with this salad. Perhaps even more delicious with this than the salad for which it was intended!

This week’s challenge really has had an interesting effect on my view of vegan cooking. I have tried new recipes and used new ingredients and discovered that it is not so complicated after all. I’d love to hear from anyone who has also been trying new things for National Vegetarian Week; there’s still time!

One thought on “National Vegetarian Week 2013 – Hearty Salad

  1. Pingback: National Vegetarian Week 2013 – Mediterranean Salad | Faint With Hunger

Leave a Reply

