The arrival of the fruit and veg box!

I set my alarm early this morning to make sure that I was up and dressed in good time for my fruit and vegetable delivery. Despite managing to nod off again for an hour longer than planned, I was still ready when I got the call: “I’m outside your building!”. (Note to self: fix doorbell.)

The box was promisingly large, and I was excited about looking inside. As soon as I got upstairs I opened it and goodness me it was full of delicious things!

The first glimpse

The first glimpse

I have to admit, I was a little alarmed when the first things I saw were alfalfa sprouts and bok choi. Or at least I think it’s bok choi. But the whole point is to force myself to try new things, so I suppose it’s a positive that I haven’t the first clue how to use either of those items…

Item by item, I unpacked the box to reveal far more than I had expected to get inside one cardboard box. It certainly is good value for money! It’s about fifty fifty fruit and veg, although by weight it’s significantly more veg, and I was delighted to spot a few of my favourite things nestled in there: broccoli, avocado, potatoes. I’m glad I held off from buying an onion despite needing one for almost everything I wanted to cook this week because the box contained four!

Now I’m off to put it all away and figure out what I’m going to make with it next week. If anyone has any ideas, particularly if they involve the bok choi, the alfalfa or the celery, I’d love to hear them. Recipes will go up as and when I make new things šŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “The arrival of the fruit and veg box!

  1. Bok choi is delicious sauteed with broccoli, onion, garlic, and a little lemon. My mother also used to make a fantastic bok choi salad with sliced almonds, toasted ramen, and raspberry vinaigrette. It’s sort of a company salad but I can send you the recipe if you’d like. And I’m a big fan of celery in potato soup – gives it crunch (I favor a very chunky, not very creamy leek and potato soup. I think it’s Rachel Ray’s recipe). But I’m stumped on the sprouts. I’ve only eaten them on sandwiches or in spring rolls.

    • Ooooh thank you! I’d love the recipe for the salad. I’ve got some strawberry vinegar and was wondering what to do with it. I’ve discovered a recipe for Waldorf soup which is basically what you’re describing, with walnuts and apple on top, so I’ll try that next week. I think the sprouts will simply be eaten in sandwiches, no one seems to have any ideas.

  2. Ooh, you got lots of stuff! Hope the veg don’t go off before you’re able to use them. Unfortunately I have no idea what you could do with those sprouts (apart from putting them in salads and sandwiches), and it’s such a large pack…

  3. I stir fry pak choi along with other ingredients and add a Chinese sauce (you can do homemade or make your own.) One trick I’ve learned is to chop the stalks like you would celery, into small pieces, and fry up with the rest of the veggies (I’d use some pepper, broccoli and a little celery), saving the leaves for the end, then shredding those like cabbage, and stirring into the sauce last, where they should wilt a little and remain crunchy. I also chuck beansprouts in sometimes, which might help you with the alfafa, and as far as I know, you can freeze the resulting stir fry, although the veggies wouldn’t retain their crunch after defrosting. Looks like a lovely veg box, enjoy!

  4. I’ll try stir frying the alfalfa sprouts with the pak choi (why are there so many ways to spell that name?) and see what happens. I should have added some of them to the salad I ate last night, oops.

Leave a Reply

