Broccoli and Potato Soup

My second veg box contained a head of broccoli which looked approximately the same as the remaining stalk from the first box, two weeks earlier: yellowish, dry and with some fuzz on it that was probably mould. I wasn’t enormously impressed, but considering that everything else in the boxes so far have been delicious and fresh, I didn’t make a fuss.

ImageInstead, I made soup! An onion, a few potatoes with the skins scrubbed but left on, a head of broccoli with the mould washed off and some vegetable stock made with my new vegan Bouillon powder, all simmered up until the potatoes were almost falling to pieces. On the advice of several recipes, I didn’t add the broccoli until the potatoes were already soft, but then I had to boil it for longer than I’d have chosen before the broccoli was soft. However, adding the broccoli later did mean it stayed relatively green.

It was delicious, and I’ll definitely be making it again soon. I’ve got two portions in the freezer and I ate one this evening after I got back from a five mile run. It would be excellent with some of the crispy white bread sold at the local bakery, but sadly they don’t open on Sundays or Mondays. I’ll be there tomorrow to grab some!

2 thoughts on “Broccoli and Potato Soup

  1. It’s a shame you had to salvage a mouldy broccoli when you’d just received it! The soup looks yummy though.
    When I make broccoli soup I usually chop up most of the stalk into small bits and put them in the pot when I add the potatoes, and I roughly chop the florets and add those about 5 minutes before the end. That way it stays green and I find it’s easier to blend.

    • I was fully intending to put the stalks into the soup. And then after I had finished making the soup and put it all into the freezer, I spotted the stalks on top of the microwave. Hmm. Next time!

Leave a Reply

