Homemade Granola

For a while now, I’ve been meaning to make my own granola. I had grown bored of porridge (this morning I choked a bowl down as I had nothing else, and almost gagged with every spoonful) and didn’t want to buy any cereal, as it all seems to have either honey or masses of sugar in it. So I gathered my ingredients, looked at a few recipes for inspiration, and went to work.

Image

My recipe was as follows: 300g of rolled oats, 1/3 cup of agave syrup, 1/2 tsp mixed spices, 2tbsp brown sugar, 1/2 cup olive oil. The measurements are quite approximate, as I amalgamated several recipes and replaced various ingredients with what I had on hand.

One main issue right off: I had run out of olive oil, and the only other oil I have is sesame. Not exactly what you’d want on your breakfast cereal! Some recipes suggested butter, which obviously isn’t very vegan. If I had thought for a bit longer I’d have melted some soya spread and tried adding that, but instead I put a little more agave syrup in and added a quarter cup of apple juice. I suspect that this lack of fat is the reason that the clumps didn’t stick together too well, but they did stick some.

I mixed everything up, spread it on a baking tray and baked it all at 150C for 45 minutes, stirring every quarter of an hour or so. For the last ten minutes I added some dried fruit – my raisins have inexplicably disappeared (I have a horrible feeling I ate them) so it was just a mixed snack bag of cranberries, raisins, cherries and so forth. They definitely didn’t want to go in any earlier than this, they were looking a little crisped when I took them out. The granola chunks are sadly not as crispy as I’d have liked, although they may harden up as they cool. Whatever texture they end up with, it’ll be nice to have another option for breakfast. Tomorrow’s shopping list: vegetable oil, bananas, more oats!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Granola

Leave a Reply

